Hi-dee-ho, Neighbor

December is Hi, Neighbor! month. I’ll bet you didn’t know that. See how much you can learn from me here at Messiah Mom? In my effort to teach you new and completely useless trivia (along with heavy discussions of death and injustice and theology), I wanted to highlight Hi Neighbor month by saying Hi, to you, my neighbors in the blogosphere.

During Hi Neighbor month, we’re supposed to remember that in all the clamor to get where we’re going, we need to take stock of where we are, and who is around us.

I’ve met some great people on the internet, and read their stuff every day. If you want some new reading material, you might consider adding one of these fine neighbors to your google reader:

Danka’s World – you’re not in an alternate reality, her site looks just like mine, and she’s got two girls, but she’s actually funny.

B and the Boy – my friend Brooke and her yummy boy and yummy (gluten-free!) recipes.

Katie M – The Dailies – uncut/roughcut version of one girl’s life

Tony Alicea – for reasons he cannot completely explain, exudes awesomeness while wearing a KISS snuggie. If he starts with the Fushigi, I’m out ๐Ÿ˜‰

Donald Miller – ok, I don’t feel like I actually KNOW Donald Miller, but reading his blog and books has really inspired me

Pastor Brad Otto – subscribe to his blog or podcast sermons for a challenging message to be all the Christian you can be.

Fred Clark – Slacktivist – I’ve been reading Fred for years and while I don’t think we’ve ever talked, I felt like he said the things that were in my head, much better than I ever could.

Matthew Paul Turner – his Daddy blog is good stuff, but it’s Jesus Needs New PR that keeps me coming back daily to be able to laugh at myself

Rachel Held Evans – her blog is what my blog wants to be when it grows up.

Mo – The Blogging – a brand new dad and a prolific writer and a thinker, which I totally dig, and you will too

Michael Perkins – Untitled – a blog/poetry site that’s good. I mean, gooooood.

Katdish – you don’t want to miss her post on the 12 days of Christmas or Christmas sweaters

Kevin Martineau – Shooting the Breeze – this is a new find for me, but I’m enjoying the writing

Connecting to Impact – support a pastor/church planter and pray, laugh, cry, etc with him. You won’t regret it.

Who is your favorite neighbor? Add their link in the comments section, please ๐Ÿ™‚

6 responses to “Hi-dee-ho, Neighbor

  1. Howdy back at cha, Neighbor!! Thank you so much for included The Dailies in your list of amazingly awesome blogs. A few of my must-reads (other than yours…of course) are:

    Knox McCoy: http://www.knoxmccoy.com/
    He makes me laugh like a crazy person, while at the same time being thought provoking.

    Matt at The Church of No People: http://www.thechurchofnopeople.com/
    Matt is a pastor that uses his blog to say all the things that he can’t or won’t say from the pulpit on Sunday mornings. It’s raw and real and flippin hilarious.

    I never miss a blog from Sharideth at A Woman’s Guide to Women: A Blog for Men: http://guidetowomen.wordpress.com/
    Whether your single or married, this hilarious (and true) relationship blog is for you.

    If you don’t already follow Bryan Allain, you are forgiven, but only just barely….http://bryanallain.com/

    Merry Christmas, Kristin!!!! I pray you and your family have an amazing Christmas. Your blog has seriously been such a blessing to me. Thank you for bring real and being YOU!!! God Bless.

  2. Thanks for the love. You gave me some new peeps to check out!

  3. Hey, thanks neighbour! (Canadian spelling).
    I’m funny?

Leave a comment