My green thumb

I have 1 plant inside my house. One intentional spot of cultivation. One tiny patch of green. It’s a bamboo plant, the kind that curls around another bamboo stalk, only, it’s been here a few years under my tender neglect, so, it’s just one straight stalk. Every other green growth in my house is due to forgotten fruit in the fridge.

Photo from Bauer-Griffin

In the backyard last year, after months and months of delinquency on my part, I ventured outside to do something about the weeds. After David moved out, I made sure the front yard looked presentable to satisfy my somewhat fascist Homeowner’s Association and their secret network of spies, but the backyard developed with wild abandon. I would tell people I was just waiting for them to add a prize category for biggest thistle at the state fair.

It had all the appearance of growth out there – reaching toward the sky were flowering plants of varying color. Some were soft, squishy greens, like clover, others were spiky and tough, still others mimicked the look of grass. Those, I found, were the most pernicious. I’m quite adept, through inattention, to growing those weeds that looked much like grass, but that had bristly spears instead of broad St. Augustine blades. I had to pull them all by hand, from the roots. It was hard work. It took forever, but had to happen to avoid killing all the grass I wanted to grow.

Matthew 13:24-25 The Kingdom of Heaven is like a man who sowed good seed in his field, but while people slept, his enemy came and sowed weeds also among the wheat, and went away. But when the blade sprang up and brought forth fruit, then the weeds appeared also.
 

In my green quest this year, I feel the need to pay closer attention to what I’m growing. Is it the real deal or a spiky imposter? Is it worth cultivating? In my prayer life, am I gaining healthy habits, or just pushing my own agenda? In my Bible reading, am I reading to find a blog post or reading to understand? In my relationships, am I making connections or making conquests? Intent makes all the difference.

What are you breeding in your life?

One response to “My green thumb

  1. I think I will be breeding hope because I’m doing my best to sow it. My focus is to live intentionally in every aspect and spur others on to do the same. I had a conversation today with someone at work that was so excited, I thought she was going to quit her job and chase her dreams. It was a fun day.

Leave a Reply

