Centurion post

This is post 100 on this blog! That makes me a Centurion, right? I’ve commanded a group of 100? In Matthew 8, Jesus heals the Roman Centurion’s servant because of his great faith and humility. The Centurion wants Jesus to heal his servant, but doesn’t feel worthy to have Jesus under his roof. Instead, he professes the faith that, if only Jesus would say the word, his servant would be healed.

Jesus marveled at his words, and said,”Go your way. Let it be done for you as you have believed.” And the servant was healed.

 

 I feel this blog is an exercise in faith and humility. I trust that when I stare at a blank post, that God will bless my thoughts and words so that I can speak to the right person, or work out my own understanding on a subject. In addition, I have found, though this blog, so many other great reads, that I visit every week, or multiple times a week. Those are often so good, I feel like a complete failure with the English language and with the Word of God.

At the same time, just like the Centurion, Jesus shows up and blesses me more than I could hope.

Since I’ve written 100 posts, I thought I would look back and share some of my favorites, and bring some of those “servants” forward for a second chance.

What I Deserve - If we’re the bride of Christ, what does the prenup look like?

Contagious – when Christianity goes from isolated case to pandemic

The Letter and the Spirit – how fundamental attribution error leads me astray

Some fun(ny?) ones:

Biblical View of Boobies - it’s about boobies :)

Culling the Word – if you think Jesus drank Welch’s, you’re right!

Why all the king’s horses and men botched it - A humpty dumpty of a post

And finally, the post that started it all: A Wail and a Whisper

If you’ve read all 100, bless you. If you’ve taken the time to comment and engage in this blog as a green space, thank you. If you have a post (mine, yours or someone else’s) that might need a resurrection/2nd look, please share!

27 responses to “Centurion post

  1. Congratulations! That’s a great accomplishment.

    I’ll have you know, that though I’m late to the party, I’ve been blessed by your blog. You take a very unique approach to blogging.

    Whoa, I had much more to say, but I just realized you have a post about boobies!! :)

  2. I’m new hear, but I look forward to many more. Keep em coming!

  3. congrats on the first 100!!!
    **lifts a mug of fair trade coffee **
    here’s to the next 100!! (though it would be better if I had some Welch’s)

  4. Congrats on 100 posts!

  5. Kristin…this is only the 2nd time I’ve come to your blog. I think I found it either through Beta Christian or Tony Alicea (or maybe both?). Congrats on making it to 100! I’m about 12 behind you, and I think you inspired me to a do a centurion post too. :) Looking forward to reading more of your take. Blessings on your bloggy venture!

  6. Congratulations on 100 posts, Kristin!!!!! YAY!!!! You’re blog has had such an amazing impact on my life. Keep up the amazing work that God is doing through you! I can’t wait to read your book!

    HEARTS!

  7. 100 posts and I’m struggling with two a week. Not only that, but the beautiful writing I remembered from ten years ago has only gotten better. Quit setting the bar so high, ya jerk! ;o)

  8. Can I just say…I remember reading A Wail and a Whisper and it does NOT seem like a year ago! What just happened here? Congrats on all your blogging success!

  9. Congrats on this. Most bloggers never make it past 10, so 100 is awesome.

  10. Congrats–good job. As Joe Dirt would say, “Keep on keepin’ on.”

  11. Belated congratulations on 100, since I started reading only a couple of weeks ago. :)

    Point of interest (or perhaps just to me): besides the 100 man century commanded by a Centurion, the first century in a legion (at least during certain time periods) was a double-strength century of 200 men.

    Just don’t sit with me during a passion play unless you enjoy critiques of the Roman soldiers’ armor/shields/weapons in the play. ;)

Leave a Reply

