Ask, ask, ask

These guys make me giggle, sometimes uncontrollably. Side-splittingly funny girls, are what I have. I believe in praying for what you want, not just what you need. I believe that when our goals line up with God’s will, we can get exactly what we pray for. I prayed for these girls.

I didn’t just pray for children, or for girls, I prayed for THESE girls. I prayed that they would be smart, that they would be beautiful and caring, kind, have a heart for Jesus and for others and that they would make me laugh. They accomplish all that in ways that differ from one another.

Mia is surprisingly intelligent, has a huge vocabulary and big ideas. She says things that make me laugh constantly — because she’s observant, but doesn’t always understand her observations completely. I had to start a Twitter account for all the funny things she says, and most of them don’t make it to the web. By the way, she’s @LittleMiaCulpa, if you’re interested.

Wendy is cunning, wants to have someone read to her all the time, devours new details you teach her. She makes me laugh from a non-verbal perspective, even though she talks just fine. That’s because she’s got more faces than Carol Burnett and Lucille Ball put together. She also has happy feet, and can’t stop herself from getting down and getting funky anytime she hears music.

So, from them, I know about answered prayer. I have prayed for things that never came about, however. I have prayed for things that did have a resolution, but it wasn’t the one I wanted or expected. I know that I’ve talked about this before, but it was instructive for me: I prayed for that job, the teaching job. I prayed so long, and so fervently, and others joined with me in that prayer. I don’t understand why it didn’t turn out. Then, just at the point I was grateful to have ANY job, I lost that, too. The class didn’t make. No pay. No students. I’m not only broke, I am unfulfilled. Something big is missing. What was the point of telling you that?

First, prayer works because God listens and cares for us, so, we should pray without fear. Matthew 6:25-27, “Therefore, I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds of the air, they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?”

We are worth more than the birds of the air, our concerns concern God. Our cares are his cares. We are called to seek first the Kingdom of God, and those necessities will be added unto us. Right now, we’re discussing Max Lucado’s book, Fearless. Fearless – the absence of fear. I want to banish fear from my life, though I recognize that won’t be easy. I fear not having enough for those children for whom I prayed. I fear royally screwing up their childhood or life by having to work so much that I miss out on being there for them, just to make ends meet. How do I let go of that fear? I have to keep an open dialog between myself and the giver of life.

Secondly, prayer works because God wants to indulge his children. Matthew 7: 7-11, “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened. Which of you, if his son asks for bread, will give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake? If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him.”

I probably indulge my children too often, but just like God, I want to make my children happy.  So, here’s my prayer list: I want to see my church grow. I want others to catch the excitement we have about God, what Christ is doing through us, serving others to serve our Lord. I want to achieve gainful employment – in other words, I want to be able to feed and clothe myself and my children and not have to worry about a catastrophe that might break us (right now, that isn’t much). I want my life to be a testimony. There, I asked and I believe and I’m trusting God for an answer to my prayers. It works. Join with me, please.

Matthew 18:20, “For where two or three are gathered in my name, there am I with them.” Add your effectual, fervent prayer to mine — and we can see great promises fulfilled. These little, laughter-inducing people around me as I write are my rainbow, my ever-present sign that God, indeed, responds to specific prayers with rewardingly detailed answers.

3 responses to “Ask, ask, ask

  1. You made my day!!! Great job!

  2. Awesome thoughts and fantastic writing Kristen!

  3. Darlene Chatham

    Well said. My daughter recently gave me a book titled, “The Invisible Woman, When Only God Sees” by Nicole Johnson. You can also catch her on youtube. It talks more in depth about the sparrow in the book and how a builder of a cathedral carved a little tiny bird in the beams of the church that would never be seen by anyone. When he was asked why he took the time to carve it when nobody would ever see it, he responded by saying, “That God sees it.” Just as God sees that tiny carved bird and this act of faithfulness, he also sees us. Like the song says, “I sing because I’m happy. I sing because I’m free. His eye is on the sparrow, and I know he watches me.”

Leave a Reply

