Naked Scripture Fridays

I’m starting something new for Fridays. In order to get more reader-participation, I’ll be posting Scriptures that may or may not be related in my mind. Just Scripture. Naked Scripture. It reminds me of something I did when I was younger, which was to “point and click” on verses and make connections. Fill in your thoughts on the Scriptures posted, please.

Today’s Naked Scripture Friday: Actual and metaphorical nakedness

Genesis 2:25 “the man and his wife were both naked, and they felt no shame” NIV

Genesis 3:7 “at that moment, their eyes were opened, and they suddenly felt shame in their nakedness, so they sewed fig leaves together to cover themselves” NLT

Hebrews 4:13 “Neither is there any creature that is not manifest in his sight: but all things are naked and opened unto the eyes of him with whom we have to do” KJV

James 2:15-16 “If a brother or sister is naked and lacks daily food and one of you says to them ‘go in peace; keep warm and eat your fill’ and you do not supply their bodily needs, what is the good in that?” NRS

Revelation 3:18 “I advise you to buy from me gold refined by fire so that you may become rich, white garments to clothe yourself so that the shame of your nakedness will not be revealed, and eye salve to annoint your eyes so that you may see.” NAS

One response to “Naked Scripture Fridays

  1. posted for Mona-
    1. Conscious choice to do wrong – sin
    2. Holy Spirit convicting back to right thinking and right ways.
    3.He is graciously correcting us so that we can portray Him better to
    others.
    4.My exp. New Christian at church said she wanted a bible like mine. (I had gone to put mine in layaway and the owner of the
    store had left inst. at counter that when I came in I could have
    any bible I wanted at no cost since I had purchased many to give
    away) I didn’t have the funds to buy her one like mine so I asked
    God to pls. help me. Went to a morning prayer mtg. – Lady I had
    never seen before wound up providing that $69.00 bible! Don’t
    rem. conv. but her eyes opened wide and she said we have a
    whole container of those at the docks and for whatever reason
    didn’t know what to do with them and she told me to meet her
    on the church pkg. lot and she would bring me one. I did – she
    did and I’ve never seen her again! That is when I learned I
    could rely on the Lord to meet the needs when I truly could not.
    I had always tried to meet any I knew of when they arose and
    I think He was helping me to learn another way to help when
    necessary. Pt. sometimes when you can’t do else wise prayer
    is better than just forgetting it! Also, another time I was concerned
    if we moved could I afford to give to other’s ( a legacy passed
    to me from my parent’s) and the Lord told me as long as I had
    the heart to give there would be something to give! I have found
    this to be true.

Leave a Reply

