Christian Pick-up lines

This week is Intimate Relationships in my class, the week where we discuss why we choose to form romantic relationships with others… it’s always good for a bit of jaded discussion, sappy overstatement and blase’ acceptance of the social conventions surrounding love.

I know there are Christian dating services and the ever-popular friend set-up, not to mention I’ve been set-up on a date by my mother before!?!?!?! but, part of what I’m teaching is the cold-question, better known to the world as the pick-up-line. I’m not teaching students HOW to pick up guys or girls, but to know the stages of relational development, and that sometimes starts with an opening line. These are usually wildly unsuccessful, but I’ve had a few people tell me that if you use them in the right context with the right person, there’s a chance…

If you’re staring at the object of your affection of the pot-luck hot dish line, and you’re ready to strike up a conversation, what do you say first? How do you approach?

If you were going to write Christian pick-up lines (that might even work!), what would they be?

5 responses to “Christian Pick-up lines

  1. I guess I could add some:
    * Romans 16:16 AND 1 Cor. 13:12 command us to greet one another with a holy kiss. We should follow that to the letter.

    * Your pew or mine?

    * One I found on another site, and the one that got me to write this post: The Bible says, ‘Give drink to those who are thirsty and feed the hungry…” Dinner?

  2. My h.s. friends and I had a long list of these…and now I can’t remember most of them…but here are a few:
    “I must be in Heaven because you look like an angel.”
    And the ever sappy… “I believe one of my ribs belongs to you.”

    • I like the rib one!

      One that worked on me: My parents are missionaries, and I haven’t been in the States much, could you show me around?

      *I just adopted an orphan through World Vision; are you looking to start a family?

  3. So cute…the rib one!

Leave a Reply

