My First Reformation

Let’s get down… and possibly funky, because today is pretty special. It’s my birthday! I’m turning 30! Mia says now I’m almost old enough to get sick and die. What a sweetheart! It’s Halloween! (And before you get your knickers all in a twist about that, remember that it’s All Hallow’s Eve, a preparation for the holy day to follow, All Saint’s Day in the Catholic tradition). And, I can’t stress this enough, it’s Reformation Day!

We celebrate the birth of the Church in the reformed tradition, which means, a drop in the sale of indulgences and, because of Martin Luther, a Bible we can read in our own language. So, if you can read, thank a teacher; if you can read your Bible in English, thank the German, Martin Luther. 🙂

This is my first time to celebrate Reformation Day since attending a Lutheran church. I’m really excited about sharing the freedom we have over the absolution of our souls and remembering how Christianity broke with some sticky sticking points. I don’t have much to add to that, because if I do, I’ll be late for church, and I am really excited to talk about the reformations in our congregation. I get to announce today that we’ve baptised 18 people into the body of Christ this year. We’ve added 30 new families to our membership and got 100 people to dress in Messiah gear and head out into our community to perform service projects, from making quilts for Lutheran World Relief to cleaning graffiti in a neighborhood park. We are going beyond our walls and strictures and traditions, even as we keep them, AND keep fast to the faith. This is Reformation.

4 responses to “My First Reformation

  1. Sorry I missed it, but Happy Belated Birthday! Welcome to the year of the priesthood! Many blessings on you this year, friend.

  2. thanks, Tony! I appreciate you and gladly accept any blessings he sends this way, including new friends!

  3. Happy (belated) Birthday!
    Love this cheery post.
    Yay Martin Luther!

Leave a Reply

