7 kids on caroling

According to one of my bizarre and wacky holidays calendars, today is “Go Caroling Day.” I’m lazy busy today, so, I had some friends interview a few Future Carolers of America and found some substantial results from these tiniest of samples.

Our subjects are: Mia(5, but really almost 6), Wendy (3), Steven (4), Norah (6), Lucy (4) and two delightful boyish imps – Boo (6) and Monkey (6).

Some got it and were able to articulate an answer to “What’s your favorite Christmas song? and why?” 
Mia: White Christmas, because it has 2 songs in one song, like you sing one song and then “I’m dreaming of a White Christmas” and then sing some more and then “I’m dreaming of a White Christmas” (2 verses)
Norah: All I Want for Christmas is my 2 front teeth. ‘Cause it has lots of S’s ’cause he wants his two front teeth back. Merry Christmas has too many S’s to say for someone without two front teeth.
Lucy: Jesus Loves Me this I know (with ASL signs) ‘Cause it’s well, like my favorite song. Well, I have another one too. That one is just my number two favorite song because it has hard parts. My number 1 favorite song is Jesus Loves the Little Children of the World ’cause they are Christmas songs and church songs and Christmas is about Jesus.
Monkey: My most favorite Christmas song is Silent Night. It’s my favorite, because it’s really pretty.
Boo: I wish you a Merry Christmas

And then there was Wendy. Her favorite “Christmas” song was “Too-ra-loo-ra-loo-ral” and “Down in the River to Pray” ran a close 2nd.

But after that is where the normal interviews ended, for the most part. Let me highlight a few of the more interesting (and with kids, what’s NOT interesting?) details.

Q: What kind of Christmas song would you write? Monkey: Silent Night. Boo: I would write the one that is on here (pointing to the interview paper).

Q: Why don’t you think Christmas carols are good? Steven: because there’s a ghost, and there are monters. Q: Ohh… I don’t mean “A Christmas Carol,” I mean songs.

Q: What song do you want to hear on Christmas? Lucy: I want a Hippopatomus for Christmas. Because it’s funky. FUNKY! Norah: Boogie Woogie Santa Claus! ’cause I like how it sounds. Lucy: How about Boogie Woogie WATSON Claus? (Watson is their dog).

They all agreed that they love to sing songs, Christmas or otherwise, and had some creative words:

Norah: <singing Away in a Manger>
Lucy: It’s little LORD Jesus, Norah. Not Little BOY.
Norah: No. MY church sings it little BOY <sings again>
Lucy: Norah, you sing it the way it is not so special. But the way my teacher sings it is much more specialer.

Steven: Frosty the Snowman was a journey ,happy sleigh. He was made of snow, but the children know why the Earth made out of coal. Frosty the Snowman.

Finally, I’m going to have to write a check to little Norah Berry, who said: Are we really going to be famous? I hope lots of people read this because maybe then the mayor will read it and then we will be REALLY famous because anything the mayor reads, like, will go down in history!

And let’s hope the Mayor is reading.

My suggestion for Go Caroling Day? Go Caroling, and for goodness sakes, take a kid.

4 responses to “7 kids on caroling

  1. What if I don’t have a kid? Is it creepy to go caroling with a group of adults? Or by myself?

Leave a Reply

