Why all the king’s horses and men botched it

Humpty Dumpty was a moron. He was cracked in the head. Humpty didn’t study risk management, obviously. So, here’s this fragile egg-head who wants to be on top of the world. He sat on a wall, not a chair or a stair, or in a box or on a fox… he choose to perch precariously on a wall. Then, historically, predictably, he fell.

Noted scholars, and by that, of course, I mean, wikipedia writers, have said that Humpty Dumpty was posed originally as a riddle. What would fall from a wall and not be able to be put to rights? an egg. Thus, why good ole HD is depicted as an egg. That’s what keeps you coming back here, isn’t it? My wikifoo and vast stores of useless knowledge, right?

Anywhoo – The nursery rhyme continues that all the king’s horses and all the king’s men couldn’t put Humpty together again. They should have been fired, the lot of them. Really, though, the eggs were stacked against them.

1) There were too many men working on the solution. They should have asked a woman what to do. 🙂  All joking aside: Problem solving teams work best as small groups. Too many opinions, too much jockeying for position, too much talk and not enough action, that bogs down the process. My pet peeve is people who put all their marital woes on Facebook. That’s like asking all the king’s men to perform your annual gynocological exam – too many men (and women) up in your business.

2) Some things are beyond repair: That famous AA mantra, penned by my favorite rockin’ theologian, Reinhold Niebuhr, pleads “God, grant us the serenity to accept the things we cannot change, courage to change the things we can and wisdom to know the difference.” There are things that cannot be fixed, there are things that can be fixed, but not by man, and plenty of people who will grab that Humpty of a challenge, some gorilla glue, and manage to accomplish nothing after hours of labor except gluing their fingers together.

3)We throw the right tool at the wrong problem.  Horses aren’t known for their manual dexterity. Assuming that we’re dealing with eggshells busted to bits, how, pray tell, is a horse going to help solve that issue? Horses are a good animal to have if you need to pull something heavy or ride across open spaces of fruited plain, but, for serious, reconstructive surgery? Think again.  I will admit to using my teeth to open difficult packaging. That’s the right tool, wrong problem, again. I think we do it in our spiritual life, too. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve opened up the Bible to show someone exactly how wrong they are, and just like those horses, it didn’t put the broken sinner back together again.

So now you have the whole story. Big Humpty D was an egghead with a deathwish and the King was obviously an incompetent nincompoop to send anything other than tweezers and Dr. McDreamy, but I find myself playing either Humpty Dumpty or the King EVERY.SINGLE.TIME.

What kind of repair jobs have you messed up? What did you do to “fix” it?

And now, for your moment of green:

11 responses to “Why all the king’s horses and men botched it

  1. I love reading your blog, Kristin 🙂 On a personal note, I wanted to share with you that today I found a church home! It’s been since I gave up on Christianity in middle school that I’ve had a church home, so I am pretty thrilled, and I wanted to share the news with someone! I thought you would be a good person to share it with 🙂 Anyways, hope you have a great day.

    • Thanks, Vikki, and I’m really happy for you in finding a Christian community to call home 🙂 I’m thrilled, to have someone else with whom to share this connection. Blessings and peace to you!

  2. This is why you are one of my favorites. Save some of this good stuff for me!

    P.S. “nincompoop” is a great word.

  3. Well, it’s the Unitarian Universalist Church here in Austin, and I’m still not a Christian. I had no idea there was a church out there for people like me!

  4. That’s cool. I have lots of UU friends and find plenty of commonality there. I’m happy you’ve found a place to be connected.

  5. it’s an awesome perspective of live and leadership that you present. and to end it with green eggs and ham is classic. I’m glad for the one word challenge. That’s how I found you.

  6. Pingback: Centurion post | Messiah Mom

Leave a Reply

