Sinful Skivvies

I’ve been noticing lately that when I stop smiling, the crinkle around my green eyes remain. That must mean I’ve been really happy over the course of my life. Or, the alternative is, I’m getting lines, WRINKLES, because I am getting older, and haven’t taken good care of my skin. So, I did a little internet research and discovered some things.

One article I read said that your skin is like underwear. Stay with me on this. If you wear undies (and please don’t tell me if you don’t), they probably have some sort of elastic waistband. The more often you tug at the elastic, stretching it beyond its natural shape, the looser the elastic gets, so that, before long, those undergarments don’t stay in place and start the slow slip toward your feet. This article said that the skin around your eyes, is just like underwear, pulling the skin taut to apply eye liner or wash away eye make-up stretches that skin and it eventually loses elasticity.

And, as often happens, something I read about beauty tips or underwear reminds me of my Bible reading. I read this post by Mo, who talked about losing the resolve we have over time to stop performing bad habits. Mix it all together in this wonky brain of mine, and what have you got? Sinful Underwear!!!

But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus his Son cleanses us from all sin. If we say we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. I John 1:7-9

 

Early on in our Christian life, or after we’ve come back as the prodigal, hat in hand, committing a sin will cause us to snap back into place, stung from the pop. At least, that’s how it worked for me. I would exaggerate. I would feel bad. I would repent. The next time I might exaggerate AND embellish. I would feel bad, but less so. I would repent, later. The next time, I would exaggerate and embellish AND make something up. I would feel “eh” about it and use some sort of situational justification….

I kept tugging at the waistband with my sin. I’d get angry. Tug. I’d lash out. T
uuuuuu. I’d sulk and refuse to forgive. Tuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuug. And somewhere along the way, I’d ignore the whisper of the Holy Spirit that urged me to seek forgiveness. There was no snap left.

If that sounds at all familiar; if your metaphorical spiritual life is metaphorically down around your ankles; it’s time for a new pair of BVDs. Christ makes all things new.

When you put on the new under-armor of Christ, though, be careful, be vigilant and be attuned to the guidance of the Holy Spirit, lest your new skivvies start to slip.

Am I the only person who has ever needed a spiritual facelift and/or needed to snap  out of it?

23 responses to “Sinful Skivvies

  1. you’re not alone. i’ll admit that I’m in need of spiritual facelift, some days more than others. but god is faithful and just, even when i’m not.

  2. Absolutely need one from time to time. Sometimes it takes God to snap (break) me to ultimately see my dependence on Him. Selfishly thats not something I want to hear, but looking back those are the times He has worked wonders in my heart.

  3. I, too, am in need of a new pair of spiritual undies. Sadly, it seems as though I’m hanging on to the old pair – you know, just in case…I’m hoping the new ones will have a better fit, too.

  4. Haha the elastic can definitely get worn out. Hillarious visual 🙂

    I honestly think that we should be seeing observable progress with our sin issues, or else something deeper is going on.

  5. Hey Kristin;
    I am both amused and a little frustrated with your skivvies metaphor. First of all, you put up a picture of men’s underwear. If you are wearing these, there are a whole lot more problems that you need to deal with. You should have rightly posted a picture of actual panties.

    That reminds me, a lot of christian women are ambivalent about their sexuality and their lingerie. They think that sexy lingerie is somehow sinful and so instead wear plain jane white nylon panties with no lace and utilitarian bras as well. This is because women from the time thta they were little girls were told that sex is bad, dirty and wrong and that good girls don’t do it. By the time that they are ready to embrace their sexuality, they are often ruined for life by the church and overzealous parents.

    You never hear positive messages about sex taught in church and all the great passages of scripture commanding us to have a great sex life taught in church.

    Just saying
    John Wilder

  6. I think the last guy to post, marriagecoach1, doesn’t have a clue as to what you were actually saying in your post. He sounds like a perv that went off on his own little tangent instead of sticking to what the post was about. By the way, I would not trust this guy as a marriage coach. I’m just saying.

  7. Thank God for Christ who is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness. How’s that for spiritual botox?.

    Now, if you excuse me, I gotta go take a look at my wrinkles. 😦

  8. Kristin, great post about the effects of sin. And right on. And more so than just temptation, I would add it has a lot to do with our general outlook on life. THIS is where sin really does its damage, I think. Sin is really all about mindset anyway – it’s attitude, it’s cruel, it’s disrespectful, and it’s above all selfish. This tends to give us a very negative worldview. It’s hard to let God into that.

    Thanks for making us think. I linked onto here from Dustin’s “Abraham Chronicles” blog. I really like it. And for the record, I have creases around my eyes too, but I think it’s because I haven’t slept since my kids were born. 🙂

    • Absolutely, Bryan, and thank you for stopping by!

      Selfishness is all about putting ourselves before others, and I’m certainly guilty of that. I have talked a good game, but when it comes to actually treating them as well as I would treat myself… well…

      I just recently discovered Dustin’s site myself, and I’m a fan.

  9. “If your metaphorical spiritual life is metaphorically down around your ankles; it’s time for a new pair of BVDs.”

    You are a trip! I love it! And yikes re: that creeper comment up there! o_O

  10. To Moe and Tommy White;
    I am not a perv and I stand on the Bible. There is a ministry totally igored by the modern churches in Titus 2 where the older women of the churchs were supposed to teach the younger women of the churchs how to love their husbands (sexually). Marabelle Morgan was a christian woman who had a mniistry called the Totlal Woman seminsr who told women to take better care of their husband’s sexual needs. That included wearing frilly lingerie because men are visually motivated. Is she a perv as well? The feininists hld her up to national scorn and destroyed her ministry. By the way, coach Don Shula had the Dolphin’s players wives take the seminar and they won the fist ever back t back super bowls including a perfect seaxson. Maybe Coach Shula was a pev too, but it has been proven to work.

    Blessings
    John Wilder

    • To Marriagecoach1: You don’t get it do you. You are still talking about your own little tangient which has nothing to do with what Kristin was talking about in her blog. You seem to be fixated on sex and women’s underwear. If you want to talk about that stuff, start your own blog, or ministry or something. Otherwise, stick to commenting on what her blog is addressing or don’t comment at all.
      I don’t know how you seem to think you are qualified to be a “marriage coach” but I certainly would not take any advice from you.

  11. To Tommy:
    I have my own blog which gets tons of compliments. more from women than from men.

    I get her pont and offered a counter pont. That is the beaty of blogs, different opinions. Since you don’t own the blog, I will disregard your commands and your sef absorbed opinion.

    By the way, I have never had a comlaint from my clients.

    John Wilder

    • You’re certainly welcome to your opinion, sir, but the forum on which you chose to promote it seems as if you’re spamming. The post was about something men and women could relate to, that underwear have elastic bands and what elasticity and faith have in common. Your probing denouncement, that there must be something wrong with me, reads like a perverse interest in women’s underthings.

      Keep comments on topic, or don’t comment. This isn’t the first time I’ve had to remind you of that.

  12. Not trying to spam at all. And as far as the comment about something wrong with you, it was intended as a tongue in cheek hurmorous comment.

    My point is that we have the highest divorce rate on the planet, moe than twice as high as the next nearest conntry. The kids are the big losers and the negative fallout statistics for the kids of divorce is staggering. The two biggest reasons for divoce in our county is the lack of conflict resolution skills and fights about sex. The Bible has tons of positive comments about we are supposed to have a great sex life but you won’t hear that taught from the pulpit of the Sunday school. The church is doing a miserable job of deaing with this very sensitive topic and failing the members miserably in violation of scriptural commands.

    Surely you can agree with me that we need to do it better as Chrisitans. YOu have the option of deleting my comments at your own whim, but be assured spamming is not what I am about.

    I am like John the Baptist, who got beheaded for reminding people what the Bible says.

    Blessings on you and yours
    John Wilder

Leave a Reply

