Take me right out of my comfort zone, comfort zone

Tomorrow, I have an awesome guest post to share with you, by one of my good blogging buddies. I think you’re going to love it. Today, I have a short, raw, green story and a question. I haven’t really edited, because it’s so fresh.

 

Once upon a time, there was a girl who was comfortably comfortable. She knew who she was and what she wanted and went after it. She held fast to the Bible like a security blanket. She knew Christ and followed his teachings as she understood them, but, then… something kept telling her that there was more.

…The man with two tunics should share with him who has none, and the one who has food should do the same. -Luke 3:11

 

She wasn’t loving her neighbor as herself, not quite. She wasn’t giving away a coat when she had two. She would store up resentment over a past wrong.

This girl, while a nice enough person, would rail about that one guy, online, who was a complete moron, and hope to Heaven he lost his internet connection permanently, instead of learning to love someone with whom she disagreed. Once upon a time, this comfortably comfortable girl became restless, sleepless, and ultimately uncomfortable.

The Bible does what journalism is supposed to do: Comfort the afflicted and afflict the comfortable. Be comforted and made uncomfortable today.

What Scriptures take you out of your comfort zone, and stretch you to your limit?

18 responses to “Take me right out of my comfort zone, comfort zone

  1. Kristin, good thoughts here and right on – the Bible is filled with stories, poems, prose, and letters that make a fascinating document with the power to change our lives and the world for the better…if we actually put its teachings into action. How many times have I read Jesus’ admonition to love our enemies and just ignored it? I had a professor once that said, “I get uncomfortable reading the Bible because it looks a lot more like God than me.” Thanks for sharing Kristin.

    • Loving enemies is so hard! I’m always learning from other Christians, even as a lifelong Christian. I just saw an act of loving one’s enemies last night that amazed me. I know that’s what we’re supposed to do, but seeing it put into practice is a rarity.

  2. Awesome thought, Kristin. And the readings that make me most uncomfortable are the passage that talk about justice. I try my best, but even then I know my best is not good enough. These verses usually have grand meaning for the community and the collective body as well. Much like the teaching and parables of Jesus.

    The reading from the gospel at my church today is Matthew 5:43-48. It talks about what is mentioned above and ends with a admonition to be perfect, just as your Father in heaven is perfect.

    Lord, I pray that your Bride learns to be perfect, as you are perfect.

    • justice is someting I think I’ll be chasing the rest of my life. God’s judgement is perfect and mine is flawed. I want to make sure I’m seeking his justice and not my own sense of what that means.

      I think that’s a great prayer for today, Doug. Thank you!

  3. Beautiful! Much love to you Kristin 🙂

  4. Wow. Sounds like you are writing about me! The scriptures that usually make me uncomfortable are the ones that talk about treating others as yourself (I do, but not in ALL things), being selfish and self-centered. Those are all faults/sins I have and try to not be like/do, but I think I am far more selfish and self-centered than I tend to think I am. I’m constantly trying to work on that, but I fail so often at it.

    • I hate when I come face-to-face with me. The preacher today talked about the law holding up a mirror to our lives. That’s exactly what Jesus’ commandments, Love the Lord your God… and love your neighbor as yourself do to me, they hold up a big, giant, 10x magnification mirror, and that’s scary.

  5. Very good story. I thought it was about me, but I’m a man. 🙂

    There are words that make me uncomfortable. Like denying myself and dying daily and turn the other cheek. The good part is that it’s spiritual and I’m earthly. It offends me. But I realize those are the words of truth. So good!

  6. I like what you said, ‘The Bible does what journalism is supposed to do: Comfort the afflicted and afflict the comfortable. ‘
    That is really good. May I quote you? I really like that thought.

  7. The whole sermon on the mount. Now depending on your theology, you may or may not accept that as something for today. I do. It stretches me because there is absolutely no way I can live like that…in my own strength. I believe Jesus is calling us to a supernatural lifestyle. He knew we couldn’t do it alone so He left us the Holy Spirit.

    I believe that with the Holy Spirit dwelling inside of us, we can live this supernatural lifestyle. That is what will set us apart from the world. Not just talking about it but living it.

    • We’re doing a sermon series right now on the Sermon on the Mount and our life groups are discussing it more in depth each week. As my Pastor put it, the Sermon on the Mount is an X-rated sermon – it’s dangerous to our complacency and disrupts our sleep if we really take it all in.

  8. I’m doing a wonderful study of Daniel with some of the wonderful ladies in my church.
    Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful.
    Until I realized I saw more of myself in Nebuchadnezzar than in Daniel. Ouch.

Leave a Reply

