Loving First Wins

Mia and I play a game.

I love you.

I love you more.

I love you most.

I love you mostest.

I love you bigger than the Earth.

I love you bigger than Outer Space.

I love you more than infinity.

I love you more than infinity squared.

I love you more than infinity cubed.

I haven’t extended the math lesson, there, to explain about how infinity can neither be squared, nor cubed. I haven’t extended the English lesson to cover the nonexistence of the word “mostest.”

Mia thinks that whoever says “I love you more than infinity cubed” wins the game, because it’s the biggest thing she can imagine. After multiple repetitions, she’s learned that in order to win this game, she has to say “I love you” first. (To her credit, she’s also learned that if I say “I love you” first, she just has to add in “most-est-est” and it all comes out right).

For God so loved the world, that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish, but have everlasting life. – John 3:16.

Really, in the “I love you” game, no one loses. Even if Mia gets to say “I love you more than infinity cubed,” I win, because I’m loved infinity to the third power, and with that much love, how could I lose?

What games do you play with your kids? How have you loved someone else first this week?

35 responses to “Loving First Wins

  1. Oh, the game of love. Sometimes my daughter comes to me and says, “daddy, I love you!” and I’m always hesitant to think she wants something, but she doesn’t. She truly loves me. That’s amazing. How much more the “Father’s love”. So good.

    As for games. I have a boy and a girl and we just love to wrestle and fight. So much fun!

  2. Well, I don’t have any kids, so I don’t play any games with them…and that makes me sad.

  3. One of my daughters’ favorite books is “Guess How Much I Love You” – kinda fits this theme… (love you more, love you most, love you to the moon, etc.)

    I like tickling my girls … they have the cutest laughs. 🙂

  4. *stumbles into a love fest*

    *realizes it’s a mommy post*

    *escapes quickly*

  5. We play stuff like that too. But he hasn’t gotten cubed yet. He’ll say I love you infinity times 1000.

  6. Making Forts out of blankets!!!! love it!!!!

    I love you’s we trade on who says them first…
    Ah yoo! (caleb’s I love you)
    If we say, I love you caleb…response: Ah yoo too!
    Emily: loves to say I love you when we are in the middle of a good show…how ironic…hmmm….she needs the attention! lol

  7. My 3 year old just discovered the term “a million”. She says it all the time now, even if it’s only a bowl of goldfish. “There are a million goldfish in my bowl.” All she knows is that it is alot.

    Great Post! It’s crazy that we can’t do anything to make God love us more, and it blows me away to know I can’t do anything to make God love me less. He loves becasue he loves me because he loves me because he loves me.

  8. I didn’t major in math, but I’m pretty sure I remember reading once that there are multiples of infinity. So maybe infinity cubed is more than infinity squared.

    But I’m pretty sure I can beat you all with infinity to the infinity.

    Also, this reminds me a bit of a question I posed on Twitter last week: “How many are there in a cotillion?”

  9. We play Squish. That’s where they go to bed and I pretend they’re not there but that they’re just giant pillows. So I “lay down” on them (not really but they think so) and then say something like “man, these pillows are really lumpy. And squirmy. And smelly.”

  10. I love the I-love-you game infinity cubed (plus one). 😉

  11. Am I the only one who was slightly disappointed that this post had absolutely nothing to do with Rob Bell’s Love Wins!?!?

    But, still, it was a great post! My kids are learning to say I love you forever and ever and ever and ever and ever and ever and ever…. Very endearing, until they start fighting. LOL

    Fav game? Sleep. Really, it’s a game. They pretend to be “sleeping” and I get a moment of silence, as long as I pretend I’m snoring. hehehe

    • Sleep sounds like a great game. I will have to introduce it to my kids.

      Sorry for the disappointment, but while I’m not afraid to capitalize on the title, I’m so over that controversy 😉

  12. We do alphabet games–one person says a word that begins in a, the next says a word that begins in b, and so on. It can go on a long time with several rounds. We also play Uno, Chutes and Ladders, Candy Land—and many more.

  13. i play this crashing airplane game. he thinks it’s the greatest thing ever. it kind of is. 🙂

Leave a Reply

