Mark It Down

Remember when I said I didn’t expect a harvest in 2010? Remember when I said I knew it was coming and that my deserts would bloom? Mark it down – my harvest is now.

It started with a death — my summer class schedule utterly obliterated. I don’t know if I simply chose badly or the college wasn’t meeting enrollment expectations or what, but I felt devastated. That meant I would go from mid-May to late-September with no paycheck.

My mind went reeling – moving, living with my parents, how would I feed my kids? Thankfully, I have a God who provides and who answers prayer. Thankfully, I have friends and family who join with me in that prayer (and probably no one prayed harder than my mom, who did not have room for us in her house 😉 )I posted about my plight on Twitter and got an email response about a part-time job.

That lead to a phone call with the preschool director at church, which led to an interview, which led to a job. Is my God amazing, or what? Then, I happened to check my college email (not a regular occurence) and saw that a local paralegal school was looking for instructors.

Yesterday, I interviewed for that. I didn’t even open my mouth, and in the first 10 minutes, the President of the college told me how impressed he was with me and what an asset I would be to their program. He’s setting up a course for me to teach in August. He told me he’d already hired one Speech professor, but thought I would be a good choice for the online class.

So, in a matter of days, I’ve gone from desolate to jubilant. In a period of a week, I’ve progressed from scorched fields, through green shoots, to harvest. God’s timing is perfect timing and I’ve learned that I appreciate that timing so much more when I have to look failure and destruction in the face.

The LORD will indeed give what is good, and our land will yield its harvest – Psalm 85:12

I’ve often said God has to whap me upside the head to get my attention, that’s with any lesson, because I’m that thick. I get it, now, God, I do — and I’m marking it down– This is my harvest. Now is my time and I’m doing it through your mercy and grace alone.

Tell me your story of perfect “God timing.”

27 responses to “Mark It Down

  1. Yay, that is fantastic news for you!

    Unfortunately, I am still in the desert waiting…and waiting…and waiting…and feeling like I’ve been abandoned and forgotten. I see God working in other people’s lives, answering their prayers, blessing them (even when they disobey Him)…but He just doesn’t seem to be working in my life 😦 .

    • It’s going to be harvest time for you soon. I believing for that in prayer with you. I spent a lot of time in the desert – really, the past two years or more – and I still think there’s more harvest coming.

    • It will come, Shelley. He promised He would never leave us nor forsake us, and He keeps His promises.

      In thinking about your mention of blessing those that disobey, the verse that came to mind was the one where it talks about God sending rain “on the just and the unjust.” So I went to look up the actual verse, and discovered something I’d not really paid attention to. Matthew 5:44-45 says “But I say unto you, Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you, and persecute you; That ye may be the children of your Father which is in heaven: for he maketh his sun to rise on the evil and on the good, and sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust.” I never really noticed that what it’s saying here is that we should do good to those that are not good to us so that we can be like God, who also does good to those who are not good towards Him.

      The classic is of course Psalm 73, where Asaph spoke of how he had nearly lost heart as he watched the wicked prosper while he suffered, until he considered their end. Worth a read through.

      God loves you Shelley, and He’s still at work even when you can’t see it. It may be that He’s still preparing what He has in mind for you. A song that’s stuck with me for many years is Trust His Heart. One of the chorus phrases is “when you don’t understand, when you can’t trace His hand, trust His heart.” Hang in there.

  2. So awesome to see God move on your behalf. Excited for you Kristin. He has shown time and time again that he is a God who answers prayer.

    I once co-signed a procedure for my aunt who was getting a tummy tuck after having twins. What was I thinking. She defaulted on the bill and I ended up getting calls from the creditors. I prayed harder than I can remember. I have no problem paying for something I am responsible for, but for someone else? Hell no!

    When one day I get a call from my aunt and her mom paid the balance of the bill and she has to pay her mom back. I was so happy when I heard the news, I may or may not have done the “worm” in the subway. Perfect timing too, because I was very shortly going to call my aunt and surely say words that are not very nice. Praise the Lord.

    • so… I’ve been thinking about getting a procedure. Would you mind co-signing my surgery? 😉

      That is pretty awesome timing, before you stuck your foot in your mouth with something you couldn’t un-say.

    • Definitely good timing on God’s part!

      A rough lesson, but one I think a lot of people need to note, too. After watching enough Judge Judy, etc, I’ve come to the conclusion that co-signing anything is a bad idea. There’s usually a reason the person needs a co-signer. I think 2/3 of the cases in Judge Judy’s court are either co-sign defaults or un-repaid loans. The defense argument is nearly always “it was a gift.”

  3. Come on, Jesus! I’m rejoicing with you. I even did a little dance in my chair! 🙂

    I think you know my perfect timing story. You pretty much saw it coming before we did.

    • Thanks, Tony! I know you’ve been praying with me, as I have for you! I’m so in awe of what Christ is doing. There’s more to the story, but I can’t post about it, here, as it’s confidential, but it exceeds my imagination.

  4. When I was in school we went through a transition where our campus ministry lost our ministers. We decided to go student-lead indefinitely. It was tough. We managed with God’s help, thankfully. But, in His perfect timing, a year later new campus pastors came on board and it was great. 🙂

  5. Praising God with you, Kristen! I have so many stories where God’s answer shows up just in time. Thanks for sharing this. Great encouragement.

  6. Praise God! That is so rad! Really happy for you. As for perfect timing…when this church asked for me to come was perfect. Literally I was completely broken and ready to give up.

    • I sometimes “remind” God in prayer that he promised not to give me more than he would help me bear. Of course, he knows that already, and comes through right on time.

  7. Woah. That is the bomb biggity, yo! I love it! Excited to hear what these opportunities hold, because we know God likes to go all crazy surprise on us all the time. 🙂 Way to walk in faith, Kristin. That’s just really encouraging to read.

    When my hubs got out of the AF, he had a job in construction while waiting for a “real job”. He got a “real job” right before the market crashed and no one in construction was working in the greater Seattle area. That was His Providence fo sho!

    • I like reading other encouraging stories too. I want to keep seeing more of his glory in my life as I reap this harvest. Thanks, Keri!

    • OK, I’m giggling here. Bomb biggity, yo. You need to say this in a vlog, Keri, because I am trying to imagine it now. :>

  8. That. is. AWESOME! So happy that things worked out for you.

    My perfect timing story, of course, has to do with my move to Nashville. 4 days before I moved, I was offered (what I thought was my dream) job. But really, God worked out all the details of the move, big and little. And as I prepare for this next leap, He’s already at work though I have no idea of the outcome. These are scary, exciting, stretching times.

    • not knowing the outcome is the hardest for me. really, really, difficult. argh. I’m glad I’m not the only one that wants to peek, but I’m trusting God to lead me where he can use me most.

  9. congrats 🙂 now comes the fruit!

  10. Psalm 68:1, “Let God arise, let His enemies be scattered.”

    Amen!

  11. Hallelujah!!! that’s awesome, Kristin!!! I love hearing of the awesome timing of God.
    this reminded me of the time when I was in Bible College, tuition payment coming up and no idea how to pay for it. at the last minute, a guy who owed my dad money for work done 2 years previous paid up. the money was the right amount to pay off my tuition.
    and some years ago, I mentioned this to my dad and he claimed no recollection of doing this, but he said that God provided at the right time.

  12. Yes. YES. YYEESSS!!! I’m sorry I am just now reading this. I am SO super stoked for you. Praise God!!! Just like Tony said, you know all about our perfect timing story. I am seeing so many things I have been praying for come to pass and I can’t be more thankful. LOVE YOU!!!!

  13. Thank you, everybody– Normally, I respond to each comment, but I have to say just a general “thank you!!!!!” to everyone I’ve missed while on vacation this weekend.

    Things continue to look up and God continues to show his goodness and mercy.

  14. Mine is still in progress and it involves our still possible vacation–more details later. I hope.

Leave a Reply

