In the swing

When I was a little girl, my grandpa had strung a plank of wood between two trees and I would sit on the swing for hours, back and forth, back and forth, back and forth.

Photo by Norman Rehme

Days spent in that yard, days spent on that swing, days spent where my cares were lifted high with my feet, sent skyward on my girlish sandals, those days are summer to me.

These days, summer isn’t so carefree. It’s hectic and I have more troubles than my feet can lift, trying to make money, preparing for classes, teaching, trying to find something more stable, plus my girls, my relationships, my friends, it’s not a lazy swing in the backyard.

I need to get into the swing of things again. I need to get school going and syllabi written and do some job searching. I also have some, shall we say, adversarial, issues to work through, and I’ll be taking a break.

I will be back once school is in the swing. I will be writing once again when I’m firmly seated and can lift my heavy feet skyward.

I will see you again in a couple of weeks.

Will you return when I do?

11 responses to “In the swing

  1. You know it, friend! Praying that your burdens will be lifted soon and very soon.

  2. You know I’ll be here. 🙂

  3. I will most definitely be here! I will probably not be around too much in a few weeks myself (the reason is listed on my blog), but I will be back again – both here and at my blog!

  4. Psst… who do you think you are? 🙂

    We’ll be here. Real friends don’t let friends swing without being pushed… and I’m the guy that pushes you so hard, you fall off your swing and bust your lip. But I’m also the guy that gets you the ice to put in your lip. 🙂

    Enjoy the rest of your summer.

  5. I will def. be here 🙂 Praying for you to find your swing again.

  6. I’ve been wondering where you disappeared to! I totally understand the busyness of trying to make money, looking for a job and taking care of other obligations. I will definitely be back when you return. Praying the next few weeks go smoothly for you!

  7. I’ll be here! 🙂

  8. Yup.

  9. yep, I’ll be back too! Be Great Kristin!!

  10. Yes–as long as I am still back in the swing then, too.

  11. I had missed this post till just now! I’ll be here. Can’t wait to see your face again soon. God bless.

Leave a Reply

