Kristin Herdy’s Quest for the Holy Landfill

I’m an auntie! More on that later. On the way to and from the hospital to see my nephew, I drive along a country highway, dotted with several large estates and ranches.

What you notice as you pass are the iron gates, large houses, softly rolling green hills, cattle, pristine estate grounds and long drives, and the signs. Those houses all have signs up right now. STOP THE LANDFILL, they say. The signs are large, professional, and look costly.

I can’t help but think about the “sides” of this landfill issue. I wouldn’t want a landfill in my backyard, either. I wouldn’t want my groundwater potentially compromised by rainwater runoff over mounds of trash. I wouldn’t want the stench. On the other hand, landfills have to go somewhere, right?

Who should bear the brunt of the landfill?

Those who produce the most waste?

Those who can’t afford to stop the initiative?

Who deserves to live in a landfill-free environment?

Those who pay the most for their houses?

Those who bear the lion’s share of property taxes?

Matthew 23:27 “Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You are like whitewashed tombs, which look beautiful on the outside but on the inside are full of dead men’s bones and everything unclean.”

Reading those signs, I couldn’t help but feel that, as human beings, we know our waste, our excess, our sin, will come back to haunt us, but like the Pharisees, we also believe we can keep the facade looking clean and pristine and avoid the consequences.

We might try to hide it away in someone else’s area. We might try to slap a new coat of paint on it. We could rebrand and repackage it. We could recycle it or shoot it into space. We can’t seem to eliminate it, though, not through all our efforts.

No one wants a landfill in their backyard. No one wants to live in their own waste. No one wants the consequences of their sin to pile up and over their fences and spill into their flower beds.

If your sin were represented by a mound of trash… what is the capital of Assyria? how much wood could a woodchuck chuck, if a woodchuck could chuck wood? what is the air speed velocity of an unladen swallow? look! a baby!!!!

In other words, what absurd things do we do to avoid the punishment of our sin, instead of asking forgiveness and accepting the consequences?

11 responses to “Kristin Herdy’s Quest for the Holy Landfill

  1. I would read this post while eating a kitkat and deciding whether I’m too tired to workout. Consequences and grace. Grace that gifts me with another chance to use up those calories before they attach to my hips. Your post helped! As we’re an island, our landfill is closed cell–no leakage and lots of recycling. It makes you so much more aware of your STUFF.
    Not so easy to hide it away. Good for the body and good for the soul.

  2. Point fingers…

  3. I think we like to compare our garbage with everyone else’s and maximize theirs in comparison to ours. This is terrible of us, but it seems we have been doing it forever.

  4. I personally like to find the one or two good things I do so that I can “weight” my sin vs my damnable good works. Yeah, that doesn’t work very good.

    Congrats new auntie!

  5. Congrats on being a new auntie!

    I think it’s an ingrained attitude in many people that someone else should have to deal with our garbage. We can push it off, not worry about the consequences and they will go away, but it’s so not true.

    Great post Kristin!

  6. Hi Kristin! I’m back in the blogsphere. I’ve been offline for a couple of months and I’m looking forward to catching up on your blog! Congrats on your new nephew!

  7. I know I’m late to the comment game here but I totally get what you’re saying. We so often try to hide behind the masks and other “clean” facades that we put up, but are filthy on the inside. When we do that we are Pharisees as well and what an image huh? Great post.

    • I rarely adventure back over to Messiah Mom from Messy Paradise, but reading your comment made me reread the post and I appreciate that I am not alone in sometimes being a little Phariseeish

Leave a comment